Why I Am Committed to #BeUMC


I did not grow up United Methodist. I came to The United Methodist Church as an already ordained minister of the gospel of Jesus Christ. I joined the UMC and transferred my credentials to the UMC becoming an Elder in Full Connection in the UMC.

I joined the UMC because I find the Wesleyan concepts of how God’s grace works in our lives (prevenient, justifying and sanctifying) to best describe the way I see God working. I love the UMC’s emphasis on personal and social holiness. I love that we have a Social Creed. I love that we are a big tend denomination!

Do we have struggles and faults? Absolutely! We always need to seek to grow in our love as we earnestly strive to love as God loves. But I see in the DNA of United Methodism the long arc of working to finding a place for everyone. And I see that desire in our Bishop and Cabinet’s decisions around encouraging pastors and churches to follower their convictions around same sex marriage. Finding ways to allow for differences is United Methodism at its best!

I am committed to the life and ministry of being an itinerant United Methodist Pastor. It is one of the best decisions I have ever made!

Tim Bonney